enter image description here

Note : Consider the y axis as 1,2,3,4(not 2,3,4) and x axis as time. Roman numerals should be considered from I-X ( some are not correct here )

Which stages show mitosis?
My answer : III-V

Which stages show meiosis?
My answer : VII-X

Am I right ?

  • 2
    $\begingroup$ I think there is no problem in your arguments. The part IV-V can also be considered a part of interphase (G1 phase), and not mitosis, though it is still ambiguous in the diagram. $\endgroup$ Nov 18, 2013 at 14:49
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ @SatwikPasani Could you post this as an answer? $\endgroup$
    – canadianer
    Apr 1, 2015 at 21:50

2 Answers 2


I believe III → IV is mitosis and VII → X would be meiosis. As Jam explained in comments below, the stationary points of the graph (II → III or VI → VII ) do not count as part of either process.

  • $\begingroup$ DNA is replicated during interphase, not mitosis. So I → II cannot be part of mitosis. $\endgroup$
    – Jam
    Dec 12, 2018 at 0:21
  • $\begingroup$ Ah I see where I went wrong. Would II to IV and VI to X be correct? $\endgroup$
    – Lily
    Dec 12, 2018 at 0:31
  • $\begingroup$ I think III → IV and VII → X would be the right answer. The gap between II → III is referred to as a separate phase outside of mitosis (G2, which is part of interphase). It might seem redundant since it looks like nothing's actually happening on the graph between II → III or VI → VII (and I can see why you'd suggest starting there) but there are other cellular processes that happen during these gap phases :) $\endgroup$
    – Jam
    Dec 12, 2018 at 0:40
  • $\begingroup$ Penny has dropped, thank you that is very helpful! :) $\endgroup$
    – Lily
    Dec 12, 2018 at 0:45
  • $\begingroup$ Np - If you edit your answer, I can upvote it. The site won't let me change my previous vote until the answer is edited. $\endgroup$
    – Jam
    Dec 12, 2018 at 0:47

From your question I can conclude that if you consider only chromosome number changes (excluding DNA and Chromatid number changes, which would dramatically change the graphical interpretation):

• I to II would represent anaphase (note chromosome doubled in a single cell)

•II to III would represent karyokinesis

•III to IV would be cytokinesis ( note the chromosome number returns to its initial for the given cell taken into consideration)

•IV to V would be a complex of interphase , prophase and metaphase

• V to VI can be again anaphase

• I have interpreted that from VI to VII there has been a chromatid doubling but the number of chromosome remains same

•Steps VII to X are clearly the steps of meiosis

So to conclude steps I to VI are mitosis and VII to X are meiosis


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.