I got this question:

Diphteria toxin is produced only by those strains of C. diphtheria that have which of the following characteristics?

  1. Encapsulated
  2. glucose fermenters
  3. lysogenic for b-prophage
  4. only mitis-strains
  5. sucrose fermenters

I think the right answer is lysogenic for b-prophage, since Freeman found out that toxic gene is encoded by lysogenic phage infecting all toxigenic strains in 1951. However, I am not sure what "b-" means in "b-prophage".

Which part is "b-" in Prophage?


Real simple: Beta! Often called "phage beta" b-prophage is a more modern way to write it. I knew that one off the top of my head, but I like to refer the general public interested in bacteriology to Tadar's online text.

It's nicely done, and I wish that it had been around when I was studying bacteriology.

Specific to your question:

Hence, Corynebacterium diphtheriae can only produce the toxin responsible for the disease if it carries a temperate virus called phage beta. Only lysogenized streptococci produce the erythrogenic toxin (pyrogenic exotoxin) which causes the skin rash of scarlet fever; and some botulinum toxins are synthesized only by lysogenized strains of C. botulinum.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.